vortiemerald.blogg.se

First reads prime
First reads prime







It’s not just young women reading these genres. Unfortunately for me I will be reading one for book club either in July or August. Thrillers are all the rage on both BookTube and BookTok. Despite my 72hrs in the Smut Den this isn’t my genre, but I watch enough BookTube and BookTok to know that’s what’s in now. That’s not to say that they don’t publish them though. But dark romance is what’s hot these days. Amazon still publishes those genres, but that’s not what’s in right now.Īs for romance I’m not certain Amazon would add a dark romance as a selection. I’m looking at my library now and I have picks that are sci-fi, fantasy, YA, and historical fiction. Before I had KU I did choose First Read picks because I had Prime. These are the books/genres/themes that are popular now. And here’s the thing none of these selections are my cup of tea these days either, but that’s not the point I was making. Terrible to you and OP, but not terrible for the majority. It's annoying but they have no motivation to fix it. They bow to the almighty dollar, and as it stands, none of us are cancelling kindle just because first reads is garbage. Or a trashy romance in a fantasy world.īut this issue is something we have to actually tell Amazon en masse if we ever expect a change.

first reads prime

I'm also a woman, and end up grabbing the thrillers half the time just because they seem like the least bad option, but honestly I haven't been picking up thrillers lately because the world is awful enough to women as it is and I'm more interested in a fantasy or a trashy romance. They put out at least one thriller each cycle, at least a biography or memoir, something for the kids, and a "womens fiction" or "book club" (how is that a genre?) for the women. I'm in the same boat as OP, the First Reads selection is generally pretty terrible and it feels like amazon thinks it's hitting all of its demographics. Yes, they're all published by amazon, but so are tons of books in the other genres. I have trouble believing that every single Kindle/Prime member is delighted to choose between the same narrow range of offerings over and over. Why isn't there a wider range of genres? Where are the cozy murder mysteries? The sci-fi? The fantasy? The trashy romances? The not-trashy romances? The comedies? The biographies? The histories? That's why I read books, to think about more exciting things. I don't need to read more of the same on an endless rotation each month. I am a middle-aged American woman, and let me tell you, my life is boring af. I don't mind or dispute that there are many people who would enjoy what I've listed above, but there have to be a similar number of other people who, like me, have little to no interest in genres designed to appeal to middle-aged American women.

  • some soppy thing about lifelong friendships between women.
  • a gritty, too-dry, charmless crime drama/murder mystery.
  • a married woman with children, losing her mind.
  • a "thriller" that's mostly just a woman is being tormented in some way.
  • some soppy thing about a family's mystery past/secrets.
  • My question is about the genres of the First Reads books- our choices are always between: Hello, this is my first post here so I apologize if I do or say something wrong. You may or may not receive a reason.Ī complete and up to date list of rules is available on the new Reddit view

    first reads prime

    Failing to do so will end up on your post being removed and/or your account banned. When posting in r/Kindle, make sure you adhere by our guidelines. Piracy Any piracy talk (including website names) will result in removal of your thread/comments and may result in a permanent ban. Amazon dropped the Kindle name from the tablets a few years back. Please use new Reddit for up to date information and sub rules.įire tablets are not Kindle e-readers. Note - Old Reddit is not maintained in this sub. Have questions before you buy a Kindle product or accessory? Want to know more about any of the products? Have news or tips to share? Join our friendly members.

    first reads prime

    This subreddit is for everything Kindle related.









    First reads prime